My First Attempt at Making Play Dough and the recipe

I volunteered to make Play Dough for my son’s preschool class.    I have never made Play Dough before and was excited to try to make this at home.  It was super simple and it made a pretty big batch of Play Dough with ingredients you most likely will have around the house. 

Here’s the recipe: 

2 cups flour

1 cup salt

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

2 cups water

1 teaspoon food coloring (or pkg. unsweetened Kool-Aid)

2 Tablespoons vegetable oil

Combine dry ingredients and set aside.  Add food coloring to water, then vegetable oil.  Blend dry ingredients with wet.  Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture becomes rubbery & leaves side of pot (depending on size of pot this may or may not happen).  Cool slightly.  Knead for a few minutes, adding sprinkles of flour if sticky.  Store in Ziploc bag once completely cool.  Image

I had my son help me with pouring the dry ingredients into the bowl and mixing them.  I also had him help me with mixing the food coloring. 

 

Leave a Reply

